February 2019 Class:  Natural Disasters, Hybrids, and Weed

Unique Legal Issues for Appraisers

Register Now


Registration Open

Tuesday February 5,2019 7:00pm - 9:00pm



The focus of this dinner seminar is appraiser liability prevention primarily related to natural disasters, hybrid appraisals, and marijuana. In addition to the interesting facts involved in many of the cases, the seminar provides specific instruction about how appraisers can minimize their risk of being sued and how to be prepared for such an event if it happens.

The instructor is Peter Christensen, General Counsel and Attorney, LIA Administrators and Insurance Services.

LIA is the educator for this class and is responsible for class certificates.

LIA insureds are eligible for a one time $50 discount on their next renewal with LIA when providing proof that they attended the class. 

This class is approved for 2 hours of continuing education by the California Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (BREA).

Cost of the class is $30 for members/$60 for non-members and includes dinner at the Dante Club. You must be signed into your account on the REAA website to get member pricing.  Walk-in fee is an additional $10 due to the additional strain on the Dante Club from managing walk-ins at the last minute.


4:30 to 5:30   Chapter Board Meeting
5:15 to 6:20   Registration and Networking
6:20 to 7:00   Dinner
7:00 to 9:00   The Class

Online registration closes on Friday, February 1 at 5PM. Please register online so we can inform the Dante Club how many meals we need.

2019 Sacramento Chapter Class Schedule

We have an exciting schedule planned for 2019. We offer classes to increase your skills, expand the types of appraisal work you can complete, and to increase your awareness in local markets. Hope to see you at the Dante.

Tuesday, March 5-Steve Smith, MAI, SRA returns for an exciting class on upgrading your appraisal skills geared toward non-lender appraisals. This class is approved for 2 hours of continuing education.

Tuesday, April 2 -Gary Muma and Brian Melsheimer will be teaching a class on resources for mobile appraising. This class is approved for 2 hours of continuing education.

Tuesday, May 3-No May class at the Dante. Instead, REAA and the Northern California Chapter of the Appraisal Institute are jointly offering a full day symposium on residential appraising.  Location TBA.  More details to follow.

Tuesday, June  4-Narrative Report Writing-Alexis Gray teaches an informative class on writing narrative appraisals. This class is approved for 2 hours of continuing education.

July-No Sacramento Chapter Class

July REAA School - The REAA School will be providing an all-day class on appraising Manufactured Homes taught by the highly regarded Andy Anderson.  Date and Location TBA.

Tuesday, August 6-A panel of local builders will discuss the changing new construction market in the Sacramento Region.  This class is approved for 2 hours of continuing education.

Tuesday, September 3-Market Update-Ryan Lundquist is the instructor. This class is approved for 4 hours of continuing education.  The class will begin early at 4 pm.

October-Whats a Comp? Richard Hagar is back to provide us with a full day of discussion on comparable selection. This will be a 7-hour class at the Dante Club. Date TBA

Tuesday, November 5-BREA and The Appraisal Foundation return to discuss upcoming changes to state regulations and USPAP. This class is approved for 3 hours of continuing education.  The class will begin early at 5 pm.

2019 Trussas Award Winner, Dennis DeSaix

Vicki Keeler, Bill McKnight, and Brenton Aichroth present the award for outstanding service to the appraisal industry.

Metrolist Updates REAA Sacramento Chapter With Exciting Enhancements and Features

2018 Northern California REAA-AI Residential Appraisal Conference

Saying goodbye to a legend – Don Machholz

A retirement party was given for Don Machholz who is saying goodbye to the industry to pursue other interests in his chosen field of Astronomy. He takes with him thanks from the many appraisers who have benefitted from his use of Excel to harness the 1004MC form across many MLS systems. He will be missed.

Don, Michelle, and son Mark

2018 Trussas Award Winner, Ryan Lundquist